Food Prep and Consciousness

I have been slowly chipping away at food planning and preparations.  I’ve never had to figure out my menu for an entire month before.  If that isn’t tricky enough, add on the fact that all my food has to be lightweight and high caloric in order to sustain me going over those mountains.  The easiest and most affordable way to intake calories without carrying too many ounces is to eat highly processed foods full of sugar and chemicals.  This is challenging for me to wrap my head around because this is not how I eat.  My diet typically consists of mostly vegetables and we cook our meals mostly from scratch.  The only thing we eat out of a can is tomatoes when we are making our own tomato sauce.  Tracy and I bake all our own bread.  We have sour dough starter that Ayla started over a year ago that we use and feed weekly.  We ferment kefir and make it into smoothies everyday.  Our tofu is made right here in Jamaica Plain by this guy named Rudy and we buy large amounts of it once a month at a discount when shopping at our local co-op on member appreciation day where we also stock up on our dried beans, grains, flours, nuts, seeds, and spices.  Of course we still eat plenty of processed foods, especially pasta, crackers, tortilla chips, salsa, cheese, milk, nondairy milks, butters, oils, condiments, and the occasional tofurky slices or sausages and other random processed things.  While are far from eating “clean” or “local” or “vegan” or “oppression-free” or anything like that, we do make an effort to be conscious and intentional about our choices while also having fun cooking and enjoying food while trying to not take all these choices for granted.   Eating this way is economical and fun and feels good and its one of the many ways that Tracy and I connected in the first place.   I recently heard someone say that people are either conscious or unconscious at any given moment.  When we are unconscious we cause harm.  Consciousness is a practice that requires effort, maintenance and commitment that ultimately relieves suffering.  Hiking is one of the many practices I’ve found that encourages me to be conscious.  I want to foster this consciousness on the trail by eating foods that support my ability to be present physically, mentally, spiritually and emotionally.

All this is to say that menu planning for a month-long thru hike is a challenge because the food has to be able to live in a backpack instead of a refrigerator and meals have to cook very quickly since I can only carry so much fuel.  This means that most of my food will be very processed.  SO I am using a harm reduction model meaning I am doing a combination of processing my own foods while spending a little extra on some products to avoid some chemicals.  Other foods I am just straight up buying off the shelf, some of which are full of chemicals.  I keep asking myself why I spent the extra dollar on the organic cereal when I also bought the most processed chemical ridden cheese crackers on the same shopping trip.  In order to move forward I just throw up my hands and conclude, harm reduction.  I am keeping it simple sometimes and practicing progress not perfection (while secretly hoping for perfection anyways).  I could sum this all up to say that menu planning for a month-long thru hike is a really healthy challenge and good practice for me.

Fortunately I am dinner sharing with Travis who is hiking the whole thing with me.  He is making and planning half our dinners and I am doing the other half.  Last weekend I soaked beans and then made a massive pot of chili and a massive pot of curried lentils. Both pots were full of veggies (which had to be either shredded or chopped very small in order to dehydrate properly).  I cooked a box of pastina (tiny star-shaped pastas) and put 1/2 the cooked pasta into each pot.  THEN, over the course of the past week I dehydrated all of each pot of food in single serving trays figuring that one and a half cups of cooked food is about a serving for a hungry hiker.  Tracy was vital as helping me figure out amounts and also just helping me out with the whole process.  She has loads of experience in determining food amounts because she has cooked for her kids and for lots of other people for lots of various reasons. She helped me with the planning and the shopping to determine details like how many peppers I should chop for a pot of chili that will feed 2-3 people 2-3 times.  The amounts are crucial because you want to be well fed out there but you can’t have leftovers as there is no tupperware or refrigerator to put them in.  They have to be carried out like any and all other trash or debris.  I have definitely forced down a bowl of unwanted leftover mac n cheese the next morning on a hiking trip and I hope to avoid that as much as possible.

The dehydrator takes 9-12 hours to fully dry out the food.  There can’t be any moisture left in the food or it can mold.  Once its dry it becomes flaky and dusty and I bag it up into meals for two (and meals for three for that first week with Stud) and then put them all in the fridge or freezer to store just in case.  In late July, Travis and I will get together with a month of food and box it up into week long supplies which we will then mail to ourselves to various post offices in Vermont where we can pick them up along the way.

4 thoughts on “Food Prep and Consciousness

  1. Hey Cariboose, so lovely to read about your prep for the big hike. How great that Stud is going for the first week, too! I was struck by your phrase: harm reduction. In motorcycling, we talk about managing risk, as in reducing it by trying to keep the number of risk factors low. The more factors there are in the mix, the more risk, the less safe. I get the fine balance between your survival in the mountains and the very least concessions you will make to ensure it. So being present about it all the time is the key to making it happen with the least amount of harm…to your body, to the land, to the principal. We readers are lucky to have your awesome perspective about these life choices.

    • Thanks Marjorie. Yes! risk and harm reduction helps me keep moving since perfection continues to elude me! I can get really stuck in an analysis paralysis.

      You are reminding me about Leave No Trace ethics and how we each have to find our own balance with that as well knowing that our intent and our actions don’t always fall in sync but that if we make our best effort it does make a difference.

    • Kael! I just read your Carter Notch entry. I was just on Mt Hight and in Carter Notch about a month ago and it was incredible! I want to go back and do the wildcats!

Leave a Reply

